www.evansnyc.com
English  |  Русский  |  Español  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Recherche:
La fiscalité immobilière
Tél.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0645
France:
+33 9 75 12 95 14
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023

Tout savoir sur la fiscalité immobilière

Since the US law is based on precedents rather than on a set of strict rules, inherited from the Roman law in continental Europe, there are often more than one possible view on the same issue. Several lawyers and accountants might have different, even conflicting opinions on the same subject. When choosing professional counsel, try to meet more than one lawyer or accountant/tax consultant. That way you'll be able to choose a professional, whose arguments make sense to you and whom you trust the most.

Below please find one of the opinions on the subject of tax implications of real estate ownership in New York:


Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit d’une vente immobilière ? Lire


Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit de la vente d’un bien d’investissement pour un résident fiscal des Etats-Unis? Lire


Quelles sont les taxes sur la vente d’une habitation (résidence principale) pour un résident fiscal des Etats-Unis? Lire


Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit d’une vente pour un non-résident? Lire


Est-il intéressant d’acquérir un bien immobilier au nom d’une société américaine? Lire


Existe-t-il des avantages fiscaux à prendre une hypothèque? Lire


Qu’est-ce qu’un like-kind exchange? Lire




Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit d’une vente immobilière ?
A New York, le produit de la vente d’un bien immobilier est taxé différemment s’il s’agit de votre habitation (résidence principale) ou d’un bien d’investissement, et si vous êtes résident fiscal aux Etats-Unis ou à l’étranger.


En règle générale, une augmentation de la valeur de n’importe quel bien immobilier, possédé au moins un an, est taxée comme une plus-value. Le calcul des gains et des pertes est facile:


Gains/Pertes = Montant obtenu [Prix de vente – Frais de vente] – Frais d’acquisition [Coût+Travaux]


Les frais de clôture et les frais de dossier du prêt doivent être ajoutés aux coûts d’investissement du bien et déduits lors de la vente.


Ceux qui ont fait de leur bien un usage d’habitation bénéficient d’exonérations fiscales. Les investisseurs étrangers sont soumis à des retenues supplémentaires. Nous donnons ci-après le détail de ces situations à titre indicatif, n’hésitez pas à consulter votre comptable ou votre conseiller fiscal qui vous éclairera plus précisément sur votre cas.

Haut de page


Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit de la vente d’un bien d’investissement pour un résident fiscal des Etats-Unis?
Lors de la vente d’un bien d’investissement, c’est la plus-value qui est imposée. L’impôt fédéral sur la plus-value pour les biens immobiliers détenus plus d’un an par les résidents fiscaux des Etats-Unis est actuellement de 15 %. Les taxes de l’Etat et de la ville de New York représentent environ 10 % supplémentaires.

Haut de page


Quelles sont les taxes sur la vente d’une habitation (résidence principale) pour un résident fiscal des Etats-Unis?
Si vous êtes résident fiscal aux Etats-Unis et possédez un bien dont vous avez fait votre résidence principale 2 ans au moins sur les 5 dernières années, vos gains ne sont pas imposé, à conditions qu’ils n’excèdent pas 250 000 $ pour un célibataire et 500 000 $ pour des époux faisant une déclaration commune. Il n’est pas nécessaire de signaler ce revenu si les gains sont exclus dans leur totalité. Cependant il existe quelques restrictions à cela.


Dans certaines circonstances, lorsque certains critères de propriété ne sont pas remplis, le montant non imposable peut être réduit. Par exemple, si votre logement n’a été votre résidence principale qu’un peu moins de deux ans, parce que vous avez été amené à déménager, pour des raisons professionnelles ou de santé, ou suite à des évènements imprévus. Contacter votre conseiller fiscal pour en savoir plus sur ces exceptions.


Vous ne pouvez malheureusement pas vous servir des pertes liées à la vente de votre résidence principale, pour compenser vos autres revenus.

Haut de page


Quelles sont les taxes sur le produit d’une vente pour un non-résident?
La charge fiscale des étrangers et des résidents fiscaux des Etats-Unis est très différente. L’impôt fédéral sur la plus-value à long terme (bien possédé plus d’une année) pour les résidents fiscaux des Etats-Unis est de 15 %. Le même impôt est de 30 % pour les résidents étrangers.


De plus, pour s’assurer du paiement des impôts des non-résidents, ceux-ci sont soumis au Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act (FIRPTA) de 1980 (Loi sur l’imposition de l’investissement immobilier étranger) qui prévoit le prélèvement à la source de l’impôt, dès la vente d’un bien par un résident étranger. L’IRS (Internal Revenue Service, l’administration fiscale américaine) retient 10 % du bénéfice brut sur le prix de vente; L’Etat de New York prélève une taxe supplémentaire d’environ 6,85 % des gains estimés. Un formulaire émanant de l’IRS doit être rempli conjointement par le vendeur et l’acquéreur (Le Statement of Withholding on Dispositions by Foreign Persons of U.S. Real Property Interests). Il faut remplir un autre formulaire pour l’Etat de New York (Le Nonresident Real Property Estimated Income Tax Payment Form), que nous vous conseillons de remplir avec l’aide d’un expert fiscal étant donnée sa complexité.


Pour vous simplifier la tâche, il peut être intéressant dans certains cas pour un acquéreur étranger de détenir un bien immobilier à travers une LLC (Société à responsabilité limitée).

Haut de page


Est-il intéressant d’acquérir un bien immobilier au nom d’une société américaine ?
Pour les étrangers qui investissent dans l’immobilier new-yorkais il est souvent intéressant de détenir des biens immobiliers à travers une LLC.


La société doit être créée dans l’Etat où se situe le bien immobilier considéré. Il est facile de créer une LLC à New York, et cela ne prend que quelques semaines. Une LLC doit remplir des déclarations de revenus professionnels (fédérale, pour l’Etat et pour la commune). Il n’y a pas de restrictions quant au nombre de membres/propriétaires (résidents et non-résidents des Etats-Unis). Quand vient le moment de vendre la propriété, les propriétaires peuvent vendre (transférer) leurs parts de la LLC à l’acquéreur.


N’oubliez pas qu’il peut exister des accords fiscaux entre les Etats-Unis et votre pays, accords qui peuvent compenser les avantages d’une LLC. Il est donc préférable de vous interroger sur la meilleure structure pour votre achat avec un conseiller fiscal familier des règles fiscales internationales. Evans se fera un plaisir de vous recommander un expert fiscal qui pourra vous conseiller une solution adaptée à votre situation.

Haut de page


Existe-t-il des avantages fiscaux à prendre une hypothèque?
Oui, car les intérêts hypothécaires sont généralement déductibles des impôts. Le montant exact des déductions pour les propriétaires peut cependant connaître des restrictions. N’hésitez pas à consulter votre comptable pour calculer ces déductions. Différentes règles s’appliquent aux différents types de prêts hypothécaires.


Si vous êtes investisseur, c’est à dire si vous louez votre bien, vos intérêts hypothécaires sur la propriété sont entièrement déductibles, sans aucun plafonnement quant au montant emprunté. Les frais de dossier ne sont cependant pas déductibles. Ils s’ajoutent aux coûts d’investissement de la propriété et sont déduits au moment de la vente. Les prêts refinancés des professionnels sont déductibles comme des frais d’intérêts hypothécaires. Votre expert fiscal sera en mesure de vous aider dans toutes les situations.


Les prêts Home Purchase Loans servent à acheter, construire, ou faire des travaux. Les intérêts des ces prêts sont déductibles jusqu’à 1 million de dollars d’endettement (500 000 $ pour les époux faisant des déclarations séparées), ce qui veut dire que si votre emprunt dépasse ce montant, les intérêts dus sur la somme excédentaire ne sont pas déductible.


Les prêts Home Equity Loans sont garantis par un bien immobilier mais servent à d’autres fins. Les intérêts de ces prêts sont déductibles jusqu’à 100 000 $ d’endettement (50 000 $ pour les époux faisant des déclarations séparées).


Les « points » sont des frais supplémentaires que l’on doit acquitter pour obtenir un prêt. Pour les propriétaires, ces points suivent le même traitement que les intérêts et sont déductibles sur le formulaire de déclaration Schedule A.


Les sociétés coopératives d’habitation (co-ops) ne fonctionnent pas toutes de la même façon. Dans de nombreux cas les intérêts hypothécaires et les impôts fonciers des co-ops sont répartis entre les locataires/actionnaires en fonction de leur nombre de parts, et sont inclus dans les frais d’entretien mensuels de la co-op. En général les co-ops publient un relevé annuel de ces montants. Ils sont généralement déductibles sur votre Schedule A. Vous avez cependant toujours intérêt à consulter un expert fiscal.

Lire notre FAQ sur les hypothèques

Haut de page


Qu’est-ce qu’un like-kind exchange ?
Si vous avez l’intention de vendre un bien et d’en acheter un autre, au lieu d’être imposé sur les gains de la vente, vous pouvez prétendre à un like-kind exchange (échange de biens de même valeur). Pour ce faire, le produit de la vente doit être déposé sur un compte séquestre et déboursé de ce compte pour votre nouvel achat. Vous disposez de peu de temps pour vos recherches, puisque le nouveau bien doit être identifié dans un délai de 45 jours à compter de la date de vente de votre premier bien. L’achat du nouveau bien doit être finalisé dans un délai de 180 jours, il vaut donc mieux être bien préparé avant d’entamer les démarches. Seuls les biens situés à l’intérieur des frontières des Etats-Unis sont éligibles au like-kind exchange.

Haut de page


Ce guide fiscal vous a été proposé par David Almog de l’United Revenue Service. N’hésitez pas à contacter David Almog pour toute question relative à l’imposition des biens immobiliers (acquisition, propriété, vente).


Consultez notre guide pour acheter à New York


Consultez nos offres de vente à New York


Trouvez votre appartement
Je cherche:
Emplacement:
Chambres à coucher:
Superficie:
[sqft]
Prix:
USD
Nous contacter:
Tél.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0645
France:
+33 9 75 12 95 14
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
Toutes les informations concernant une propriété à vendre, à louer, et son financement ont été obtenues par Evans de sources estimées par Evans comme honorables et fiables. L’exactitude de cette information ne peut toutefois être garantie, elle pourrait contenir des erreurs ou des omissions, des changements de prix, de loyer, de commission, de bail ou de financement pourraient prendre place, une propriété pourrait avoir été déjà vendue, ou retirée du marché sans préavis ; en effet ces informations ont été recueillies par des tierce parties qui sont entièrement responsable de leur contenu. Toutes les surfaces et dimensions sont données à titre d’indication et sont approximatives. Les dimensions exactes peuvent être établies en engageant les services d’un architecte ou d’un ingénieur. Règles de confidentialité | Conditions d’utilisation

www.evansnyc.com
Русский  |  Español  |  Français  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Search:
Real Estate Tax Guide
Tel.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0600
Israel:
+972 3 374 1560
UK:
+44 20 7442 5512
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023

All About Real Estate Taxes


Since the US law is based on precedents rather than on a set of strict rules, inherited from the Roman law in continental Europe, there are often more than one possible view on the same issue. Several lawyers and accountants might have different, even conflicting opinions on the same subject. When choosing professional counsel, try to meet more than one lawyer or accountant/tax consultant. That way you'll be able to choose a professional, whose arguments make sense to you and whom you trust the most.


Below please find one of the opinions on the subject of tax implications of real estate ownership in New York:


What are the taxes on sale proceeds? Read


What are the taxes on sale proceeds for the investment property for US Tax residents? Read


What are the taxes on selling a home (primary residence) for US Tax residents? Read


What are the taxes on sale proceeds for a non-resident? Read


Does it make sense to buy a property in the name of a US domestic company? Read


Are there tax benefits to taking a mortgage? Read


What is Like-kind exchange? Read




What are the taxes on sale proceeds?
Sale proceeds from real estate property in New York are taxed differently depending upon whether you are selling your home (primary residence) or your investment property. They also vary for US tax residents and non-residents.


Generally, an increase in value of any real estate property, which was held one year or longer, is taxed as capital gains. Calculating the Gain/Loss is easy:


Gain/Loss = Amount Realized [Selling Price - Selling Expenses] - Adjusted Basis [Cost + Improvements].


Closing costs, points and loan origination fees are added to the cost basis of the property and deducted at the time of sale.


Those who used their real estate as their home have tax exemptions described below. Foreign investors are subject to additional withholding, also described below. The information below is an approximate assessment, please consult your accountant or tax adviser about your circumstances.

Back to the top


What are the taxes on sale proceeds for the investment property for US Tax residents?
When selling an investment property, the tax is paid on capital gains. The Federal tax on capital gain for property held more then a year for US tax residents is currently 15%. New York State and City tax comprises approximately an additional 10%.

Back to the top


What are the taxes on selling a home (primary residence) for US Tax residents?
If you are a US tax resident and own a property, which you used as a primary residence for at least 2 years out of the 5 past years, you don't have to pay tax on the gain as long as it doesn't exceed $250,000 if you are single, and $500,000 if you file taxes as Married Filing Joint Return. You don't need to report the income if all gain is excluded. Some time limitations apply to this exclusion though.


In certain circumstances, there can be a reduced exclusion when the ownership and use tests are not met, for instance, if you use your home as primary for slightly less than 2 years. Reasons for this would be a change in job location, health, or unforeseen circumstances. Please contact your tax professional for more information regarding these exceptions.


Unfortunately you cannot use loss from the sale of personal residence real estate to offset your other income.

Back to the top


What are the taxes on sale proceeds for a non-resident?
There is a significant difference in tax liability for foreign and US tax residents. Federal tax on long term (property held more then a year) capital gain for US tax residents is 15%. Same tax for foreign residents is 30%.


Moreover, to insure payment of the U.S. tax, non-residents are subject to the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act of 1980 (FIRPTA) income tax withholding immediately upon sale of a property by a foreign resident. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) withholds 10% of the gross sale price; New York State withholds an additional tax of approximately 6.85% of the Estimated Gain. An IRS form must be filed by the seller/buyer - Statement of Withholding on Dispositions by Foreign Persons of U.S. Real Property Interests. For New York State, an additional form must be filed - Nonresident Real Property Estimated Income Tax Payment Form (Complex form, please consult with a tax professional for completion).


To avoid this complexity, in some cases it makes sense for a foreign buyers to own real estate through a domestic Limited Liability Company or LLC.

Back to the top


Does it make sense to buy a property in the name of a US domestic company?
For foreign investors in real estate in New York it often makes sense to own real estate through a through a domestic Limited Liability Company or LLC.


Such company needs to be formed in the same state, where real property is located. Forming LLC in New York is easy and will take only a couple of weeks. LLC must file business tax returns (Federal, State and Locality). It can have an unlimited number of members/owners (U.S. & Non-U.S residents). When the time comes to sell the property, owners can sell (transfer) the shares in the LLC to the buyer.


Keep in mind, that there are tax treaties between the US and your county to be considered which may offset the benefits of an LLC. Therefore, it is beneficial to discuss the best structure for your purchase with a tax adviser familiar with international tax laws. Evans will be happy to refer you to a tax professional who can advise you, which solution is right for your individual situation.

Back to the top


Are there tax benefits to taking a mortgage?
Yes, mortgage interest is generally tax deductible. There might be, however, limitations on the exact amount of deductions for home owners. Please consult your accountant to figure deductions. Different rules apply to various types of mortgage loans.


If you are an investor, i.e. you rent your property out, your mortgage interest on the property is fully deductible without any caps on the amount borrowed. However, points and loan origination fees are not deductible. They are added to the cost basis of the property and deducted at the time of sale. Refinanced loans used for business purposes are deductible as mortgage interest expenses. Your tax professional will be able to consult you regarding each circumstance.


Home Purchase Loans are loans used to buy, construct, or make improvements to property. Interest on these loans is deductible for up to $1 million ($500,000 for married filing separately) in debt, i.e. if you borrow above that amount, the interest on the exceeding amount is not deductible.


Home Equity Loans are loans secured by real property but used for other purposes. Interest on these loans is deductible for up to $100,000 ($50,000 for married filing separately) in debt.


Points are additional fees paid to obtain a mortgage. For home owners these points are treated as interest and are deductible on the Schedule A.


Cooperative Housing Corporations (Co-Ops) vary from one to the other. In many cases mortgage interest and property taxes of co-ops are allocated to tenant-shareholders based on the number of shares and are included in monthly maintenance payment of a Co-op. The co-op usually issues a year-end statement with these amounts. They are generally deductible on your Schedule A; however, you should always consult a tax professional for advice.

Read FAQ about mortgages

Back to the top


What is Like-kind exchange?
If you intend to sell one property and buy another, instead of paying tax on the gains of the property, you have an option of filing for a like-kind exchange. To do so, cash from the sale must be deposited in an escrow account and disbursed from that account for the new purchase. You don’t have too much time to shop around, since a new property must be identified within 45 days from the date in which the original property was sold. The purchase of new property must be completed within 180 days, so one has to go into the process being well prepared. Only properties within the U.S. qualify for the like-kind exchange.

Back to the top


This tax guide was prepared by David Almog of United Revenue Service. Please contact David Almog with any questions regarding tax liability that arises from buying, owning and selling real estate in New York.


Read our guide to buying in New York


Browse our luxury properties for sale in New York

Find your home
Looking for:
Location:
Bedrooms:
Total area:
sq. ft.
Price:
USD
Contact Us:
Tel.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0600
Israel:
+972 3 374 1560
UK:
+44 20 7442 5512
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
All information on this website including information about a property for sale, rental or financing has been obtained by Evans from sources which Evans deems reputable and reliable. All guides, reference materials, mortgage and closing cost calculators, etc, presented herein are for your reference only and are approximate. No representations are made as to the accuracy of such information, and such information is subject to errors, omission, change of price, rental, commission, prior sale, lease or financing, or withdrawal without notice, as such information has been provided by independent third parties who are solely responsible for its content. Exact closing costs and mortgage information can be obtained from your mortgage representative and/or attorney. All square footage and dimensions presented herein are approximate. Exact dimensions can be obtained by retaining the services of a professional architect or engineer. Privacy statement | Terms of use